Sunday, September 24, 2017
License Requirements

Salesperson License

To become eligible to obtain a SALESPERSON license in Alabama, and applicant who does not hold a current real estate license in another state must:

  1. Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident;
  2. Be at least 19 years old;
  3. Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.;
  4. Show proof of high school graduation or GED;
  5. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude;
  6. Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state
    within the past two years.
  7. After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination.

Additionally, a SALESPERSON applicant must:

Prior to taking the state exam, successfully complete an approved 60 clock hour prelicense course. (Salesperson applicants who started the prelicense course prior to October 1, 2004 have 24 months to pass the state exam after completing this course.  Applicants who started the course after October 1, 2004 have 12 months to pass the state exam after completing the course. If these deadlines are not met, the course must be retaken.) AND
Must complete a 30 hour post license training course within the first twelve months of licensure in order to be issued an original (permanent) license. Further, the course must be completed and original license issued within the first six months in order to maintain an active license.


 

Broker License

To become eligible to obtain a BROKER license in Alabama, and applicant who does not hold a current real estate license in another state must:

  1. Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident;
  2. Be at least 19 years old;
  3. Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.;
  4. Show proof of high school graduation or GED;
  5. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude;
  6. Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state
    within the past two years.
  7. After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination.

Additionally, a BROKER applicant must:

Successfully complete an approved 60 clock hour prelicense course. AND Must have held an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 months of the 36 month period immediately preceding the date of application.



Examination

Real Estate Examination

How the examination is administered

The Alabama Real Estate Licensing Examinations are administered by computer at Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) Assessment Centers in Alabama. Assessment Center locations in surrounding states may be made available if requested. Please visit AMP’s Web site www.goAMP.com for a complete listing of AMP Assessment Center locations. The examinations are administered by appointment only Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) at 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. at the following Alabama locations. No walk-in testing allowed.

Exam Centers

Athens, Alabama
H&R Block Office
1013 Hwy 72 East
Athens, AL 35611

Birmingham, Alabama
H&R Block Office
7001 Crestwood Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35210

Huntsville, Alabama
H&R Block District Office
Huntsville West Shopping Center
4710 University Drive NW, Suite K
Huntsville, AL 35816

Mobile, Alabama
ABS Tax Service
3963 Cottage Hill Road
Mobile, AL 36609

Montgomery, Alabama
H&R Block District Office
Colonial Shoppes Shopping Center
2729 Bell Road
Montgomery, AL 36117

Exam Fee

Examination Fee: $69
Payment may be made by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover), cashier’s check or money order made payable to AMP.

3 Ways to Schedule Examination Appointment

  1. Online at
    AMP- Applied Measurement Professionals
  2. Call AMP at 1.800.345.6559
  3. Mail registration form to AMP


 

Like us on Facebook @ Wiregrass  REALTORS®
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use
Copyright 2012 by Wiregrass Board of Realtors